Failure to Stop for a Traffic Light – NJSA 39:4-105
The NJ law: N.J.S.A. 39:4-105
The New Jersey law prohibits failing to stop for a traffic light. A three-color system is used; red, amber and green:
A green light means permission for a driver to go. A red light means that a driver must stop before entering an intersection or a crosswalk and wait for the light to turn green before proceeding.
A yellow light means that a driver must stop before entering an intersection or crosswalk, unless he is so close to the intersection that he cannot do so safely. The statute specifies that a distance of fifty feet from the intersection is considered a safe stopping distance for a speed of twenty miles per hour, and vehicles and street cars if within that distance when the amber appears alone, and which cannot be stopped with safety, may proceed across the intersection or make a right or left turn unless the turning movement is specifically limited.
NJ Fines and Penalties
If you are convicted of or plead guilty to Failure to Stop for Traffic Light in New Jersey, the Court must fine you anywhere from $50 to $200 (39:4-203), court costs up to $33 (N.J.S.A. 22A:3-4) and a $6 assessment (N.J.S.A. 39:5-41). Additionally, the Court has the discretion to imprison you up to 15 days in jail (39:4-203).
Failure to Stop for Traffic Light- N.J.S.A. 39:4-105 is a violation listed in the N.J.S.A. Point Schedule and the Motor Vehicle Commission will add 2 points to your New Jersey Driving record if convicted.
The Law Firm of Richard Huizenga is here to help
If you are accused of failure to stop for a traffic light in NJ, a NJ traffic ticket attorney may be able to help protect your driving record. Call the Law Firm of Richard Huizenga at (732) 500-4688 for a free consultation.