Reckless Driving – NJSA 39:4-96
Reckless driving carries much harsher penalties than careless driving. It is defined in NJSA 39:4-96 as “Driving a vehicle heedlessly, in willful or wanton disregard of the rights or safety of others, in a manner so as to endanger, or be likely to endanger, a person or property.”
Penalties for Reckless Driving in New Jersey
If you are convicted of or plead guilty to Reckless Driving as a 1st Offense, the Court must fine you anywhere from $50 to $200 (39:4-96), court costs up to $33 (N.J.S.A. 22A:3-4) and a $6 assessment (N.J.S.A. 39:5-41). The Court also has the discretion to imprison you up to 60 days in jail (39:4-96).
A second conviction to Reckless Driving carries additional enhanced penalties in New Jersey pursuant to N.J.S.C. 39:4-96. The Court must fine you anywhere from $100 to $500 (39:4-96) and the above mentioned court costs and assessments. Additionally, the Court has the discretion to imprison you up to 3 months in jail (39:4-96).
In addition to fines and possible jail time, a person who is convicted of or pleads guilty to reckless driving will have five points added to his New Jersey driving record.
The above listed fines must be doubled when the offense is in an area designated with a speed limit of 65 miles per hour (N.J.S.A. 39:4-98.6) or committed in an area of highway construction or repair or when committed in a designated safe corridor (N.J.S.A. 39:4-203.5).
The Law Firm of Richard Huizenga is here to help
Reckless driving is a very serious offense that can mean fines, the loss of your driving privilege, increased insurance premiums, and even imprisonment. If you are accused of reckless driving in NJ, a NJ traffic ticket attorney may be able to help protect your driving record. Call the Law Firm of Richard Huizenga at (732) 500-4688 for a free consultation.