Exceeding Maximum Speed – NJSA 39:4-98
Speeding as defined in NJSA 39:4-98 is one of the traffic violations that New Jersey traffic ticket attorneys see most often.
The NJ law: N.J.S.A. 39:4-98
The New Jersey Speeding law provides:
“Subject to the provisions of R.S.39:4-96 and R.S.39:4-97 and except in those instances where a lower speed is specified in this chapter, it shall be prima facie lawful for the driver of a vehicle to drive it at a speed not exceeding the following:
a. Twenty-five miles per hour, when passing through a school zone during recess, when the presence of children is clearly visible from the roadway, or while children are going to or leaving school, during opening or closing hours;
b. (1) Twenty-five miles per hour in any business or residential district;
(2) Thirty-five miles per hour in any suburban business or residential district;
c. Fifty miles per hour in all other locations, except as otherwise provided in the “Sixty-Five MPH Speed Limit Implementation Act,” pursuant to section 2 of P.L.1997, c. 415 (C.39:4-98.3 et al.).”
NJ Fines and Penalties
If you are convicted of or plead guilty to speeding, your punishment depends on two factors: how fast you were going and whether you were in a safe corridor or construction zone. Here are the fines you will have to pay for speeding outside of a safe corridor or construction zone:
– Exceeding speed limit by 1-9 miles per hour, $85
– Exceeding speed limit by 10-14 miles per hour, $95
– Exceeding speed limit by 15-19 miles per hour, $105
– Exceeding speed limit by 20-24 miles per hour, $200
– Exceeding speed limit by 25-29 miles per hour, $220
– Exceeding speed limit by 30-34 miles per hour, $240
– Exceeding speed limit by 35-39 miles per hour, $260
The above listed fines must be doubled when the offense is in an area designated with a speed limit of 65 miles per hour (N.J.S.A. 39:4-98.6) OR committed in an area of highway construction or repair or when committed in a designated safe corridor (N.J.S.A. 39:4-203.5).
Fines and Other Penalties.
Exceeding the speed limit by 40 miles per hour or more (or by 20 miles per hour or more in a construction zone or safe corridor) requires a court appearance.
In addition to the fines listed above, the New Jersey Motor Vehicle Commission will add points to your driving record. If you accumulate enough of these points, you will be subject to additional fines, or even a license suspension (if you have 12 or more points at any time).
The points that will be added to your record for speeding are:
– Exceeding speed limit by 1-14 miles per hour, 2 NJ DMV points
– Exceeding speed limit by 15-29 miles per hour, 4NJ DMV points
– Exceeding speed limit by 30 miles per hour or more, 5 NJ DMV points
The New Jersey Motor Vehicle Commission will suspend a person’s New Jersey driver’s license any time a driver accumulates 12 or more points. The length of the suspension will depend on the Motor Vehicle Point Accumulation chart. Additionally, the Court or the Motor Vehicle Commission may suspend your New Jersey driver’s license if it is found that you committed this violation “willfully” (N.J.S.A. 39:5-31).
The Law Firm of Richard Huizenga is here to help
If you receive a speeding ticket in New Jersey, you face serious penalties, including fines, a possible loss of your license and higher insurance rates. A NJ speeding ticket attorney may be able to help protect your driving record. Call the Law Firm of Richard Huizenga at (732) 500-4688 for a free consultation.