Failing to Observe a Police Officers Directions – NJSA-39:4-57
In New Jersey you can get a traffic ticket for failing to follow a police officer’s directions. N.J.S.A. 39:57 of the New Jersey Motor Vehicle Statutes is contained in Title 39- Motor Vehicle and Traffic Laws.
The NJ Statute: NJSA 39:4-57
The New Jersey law that prohibits Failing to Observe a Police Officer’s Directions provides “Drivers of vehicles, street cars or horses shall at all times comply with any direction, by voice or hand, of a member of a police department, a peace officer, or the director, when enforcing a provision of this chapter.”
What this means is that a police officer has the power to give you a traffic ticket if you fail to abide by any of his commands, verbal or physical, which pertain directly to the enforcement of traffic laws. If this happens, the police officer can give you a ticket for failing to obey the direction of a police officer under N.J.S.A. 39:4-57.
NJ MVC Points and Penalties
If you plead guilty or are convicted for a N.J.S.A. 39-4-57 violation in a NJ court, you will get penalized by the New Jersey Motor Vehicle Commission (MVC), which will add 2 points to your driving record. Additionally, the Court may fine you up to $50 (39:4-203), court costs up to $33 (N.J.S.A. 22A:3-4) and a $6 assessment (N.J.S.A. 39:5-41).
The Court or the NJ Motor Vehicle Commission may suspend your New Jersey driver’s license if it finds that you committed this violation “willfully” (N.J.S.A. 39:5-31).
The Law Firm of Richard Huizenga is here to help
Because getting a traffic ticket can seriously effect your driving record, you should get an experienced New Jersey traffic ticket lawyer as soon as possible. Even getting a traffic ticket for something that seems as trivial as disobeying the police officer can cause you serious problems in the future. Contact The Law Firm of Richard Huizenga who specializes in New Jersey traffic ticket law at (732) 500-4688 for a free consultation.